Confessions of a Plagiarizer: 8 Bitt Kidd

When everybody (sic) was talking about TV Death Squad, the 8 bit kidd (not to be mistaken by the 8 bit kidd) was putting other people’s songs on his Myspace. Judging from this 8bc-thread, it has been music by Shirobon, Uoki-Toki, Unicorn Kid, and Stalecupcakes. His first Myspace was deleted rather quickly, but he put another one up just as quickly. This one has been up for a month or so – and it seems it will stay online. Oh well.

A few days ago I received an e-mail from an anonymous person who had been chatting with him, to try and figure out why he did what he did. I rather enjoyed reading it, so I thought I would post it here aswell. My summary for the lazy: he’s had his own music plagiarized and now he wants to troll 8bc and pass the account to his friends that will keep on doing it. And now, enter chatlog!

[01:34:25] <me> yo
[01:36:56] <him> /b/tard?
[01:37:02] <me> no
[01:37:19] <me> I’m some guy from 8bc
[01:37:34] <him> yus?
[01:38:06] <me> well, the shitstorm over you quieted a bit, and I thought I’d ask you some questions
[01:38:15] <him> you guys are the easiest to troll, thanks for teh massive amounts of Lulz.
[01:38:31] <him> buttt, ask away.
[01:38:38] <me> that’s what I wanted to ask about actually
[01:39:00] <him> proceed my good sir.
[01:39:06] <me> well, I don’t understand how this is trolling
[01:39:24] <me> when I troll people, I get them worked up over nothing
[01:39:35] <me> make them look silly
[01:39:50] <me> but don’t give them an actual cause
[01:39:58] <him> ah yes, but obv troll is obv.
[01:39:59] <me> see what I mean?
[01:40:17] <me> was that your intention all along?
[01:40:35] <me> we’re trying to figure out why people keep nicking stuff from us
[01:41:11] <him> I did it for the lulz. which I’ve gotten plenty of. thank the 8bc for me.
[01:41:11] <me> I don’t get it, personaly
[01:41:35] <me> well, is there any need now to keep the tracks up?
[01:42:09] <me> you seem to have gone under the radar, so why keep them
[01:42:32] <me> doesn’t do much for trolling now
[01:43:16] <him> yes, i’m handing the myspace off for a fellow troll to have. just start using a friend adder to add 8bit artist and watch the shitstorm ensue.
[01:43:39] <me> hmm
[01:43:52] <me> you have another music project, *******, right?
[01:44:03] <him> indeed.
[01:44:14] <me> is that also a troll account?
[01:44:47] <him> haven’t messed with it since my good laptop got fucked up. and nah that’s a legit project
[01:45:22] <me> soooo, you wouldn’t mind if took those songs and put them up as my own, right? :P
[01:45:38] <him> they suck, go ahead. rofl
[01:45:46] <me> heh
[01:46:29] <me> well, I got an answer, but I’m not sure if I got an answer
[01:46:47] <him> I don’t follow.
[01:47:01] <me> I mean, I put hours, sometimes days and weeks into my tracks
[01:47:25] <me> you didn’t nick any of me, but it happened to me once
[01:48:02] <me> I think my conscience would kill me if I did anything like that
[01:48:16] <him> as do I with my music me and my friend produce which is why I stopped uploading it. the Internet is a fierce plays for competition which ussually leads to stealing
[01:48:32] <him> trolls don’t have a consciense.
[01:49:05] <me> yeah, but you’d hate it if anyone would troll you the same way, wouldn’t you?
[01:49:44] <me> I’m trying to figure out if it’s just like… I dunno, nicking pylons from the street or a calculated thing
[01:49:46] <him> I wouldn’t give the troll the satisfaction he craves.
[01:51:05] <me> well, what would you do? let him go on, and let him get praise (you got some good comments on your myspace) you know is yours by right?
[01:51:57] <me> I know from experience that feels really shitty
[01:52:05] <him> or  work to get it deleted and not just complain.
[01:52:37] <me> we got yours deleted, and you put up a new page within minutes.. doesn’t seem to work
[01:53:28] <him> I don’t give up that easy, launch an attack againt the personal, hack the aim. I gave you guys plenty of info to take me down so it was actually fair and nothing
[01:53:46] <him> shows how strong your community RLY is.
[01:54:09] <me> oh come on
[01:54:19] <me> that’s not what I’m getting at
[01:54:30] <him> then what are you getting at?
[01:54:39] <me> what I don’t get is how, as a musician yourself, you can punch an artist like that
[01:55:22] <him> like I said, for the lulz.
[01:55:55] <me> where’s the lulz in that? getting people angry isn’t very hard
[01:56:24] <him> ahah, obv.
[01:56:27] <me> is it because you know you can get away with it? I mean, nobody is likely going to file a lawsuit or something
[01:57:15] <me> would you pull that with the likes of, say, sabrepulse?
[01:57:52] <him> too easily detected, obv troll is obv.
[01:58:30] <me> well, you know his opinion on music theft, don’t you?
[01:59:15] <me> (and btw, shouldn’t be trolling be easily detected anyways?)
[01:59:44] <me> and shirobon isn’t a nobody either
[02:00:02] <him> if it’s obv you’re a troll people will disregard you. yeah but idgaf about that one haha
[02:00:25] <him> gotta have at least one people would recognize and investigate.
[02:00:44] <me> you dont give a fuck about sabrepulse’s opinion?
[..chipflip note: 4 minute delay..]
[02:04:02] <him> I’m not down for an ethics lesson good sir, I am done here.
[02:04:16] <me> well, fair enough
[02:04:27] <me> thanks for the answers, such as they are
[02:04:43] <him> least I could do.
[02:05:21] <him> goodluck on your music, I might consider taking down the page due to you confronting me in an actually respectable matter.
[02:05:45] <me> thank you for that, too
[02:06:07] <me> I feel that actually talking is often more effective than screaming
[02:06:47] <him> indeed.

After a few days I received another chat-log, and this time mr.Anonymous wanted to ask why he chose 8-bit music and not some other music.

[21:48:30] <me> hey, I forgot to ask you a question last time. may I?
[21:48:41] <him> Sure, why not?
[21:49:17] <me> well, I was wondering if there was any special reason you picked 8bit (as a style).
[21:49:50] <him> i personally love the 8bit musice, i’m actually waiting for a LSDJ i got off ebay to come in the mail.
[21:49:58] <me> oh
[21:50:05] <me> I didn’t expect that
[21:50:08] <him> once that gets here im handing off the page to my /b/ros so i can start on my music.
[21:50:32] <him> Expect the unexpected.
[21:50:44] <me> why would you pick a style of music for trolling you like and not… screamo or something?
[21:50:55] <him> I also enjoy screamo.
[21:51:01] <him> harder to troll though.
[21:51:01] <me> haha oops sorry
[21:51:13] <him> i enjoy pretty much all music, besides country and the sort.
[21:51:43] <him> i mainly listen to 8bit/chiptune and hardcore/grindcore music.
[21:52:08] <me> so why pick it as a target? isn’t that paradox?
[21:52:38] <him> A bit, but because i know alot about it and how easy it was to obtain and impersonate with the music, i chose it.
[21:52:52] <me> ah, I see
[21:53:19] <me> you put up a new track, I noticed
[21:53:50] <him> Indeed, a track i had on my ipod for awhile that i wanted for my personal page.
[21:55:04] <me> It’s ******** by ********. Hope to revive the troll-roll?
[21:55:39] <him> i don’t that sceney weenie will notice.
[21:55:52] <him> so it was more for personal use than that of trolling.
[21:56:02] <him> I enjoy his music, but not him.
[21:58:06] <me> thanks for the answers again
[21:58:14] <him> Anytime.
[21:58:23] <me> see ya

5 Responses to “Confessions of a Plagiarizer: 8 Bitt Kidd”

  1. peter Says:

    Not to be an old man about it, but you def. see this on places like 8bc where people mistake ANY attention as the same as good attention. If I’m yelling into the void and no one is responding to my good intentions but overwhelmingly to my troll attempts.. I guess that is as good a reward as they are going to get.

    Its also funny when life long trolls start becoming part of the community, whether through turning a new leaf or just becoming used to.. but that’s another issue.

  2. Dot.AY Says:

    Hey Anders,
    interesting read… I really don’t understand Troll motives? Obv. Troll is Obv. … does it really matter, its not obvious to the people who think he wrote the music..

    Anyway you actually linked the wrong 8bitKidd :S the guy you linked is from New Zealand and is a legit artist who has been around for a while
    This is the guy — http://www.myspace.com/the8bitkidd

  3. chipflip Says:

    @peter: yeah, if you can’t get attention through LIKE-buttons, you can always get it through DISLIKE-buttons. but it’s interesting how plagiarism was handled so differently compared to e.g. TV Death Squad. the 8BC-thread cooled off even without the myspace being closed. sure, it would serve his purpose to give him attention maybe, but is that a reason to stop caring?

    @dot.ay: shit, that’s pretty bad. i admit it – i didn’t even listen to the music. hrmf. i’ve changed the link, thanks for pointing it out!

  4. Mr T Says:

    Thanks for posting this. An interesting read.

    I am with Alex on this one – “its not obvious to the people who think he wrote the music”.

  5. µB Says:

    @anders: I think the reason why he went under the radar was because TV Death Squad was a far more thankful target for the hay forks and torches. He had goofy videos to ridicule, and actually felt pretty bad when he was confronted. Not so this kid. He just laughed, shrugged, and continued. I think some people just like to kick once the target is down, and the theft itself isn’t all that relevant to them.

    On the other hand, just ignoring them isn’t helping the cause either. A little more mature attitude handling those cases would help. It’s the attention that trolls like him are after.

Leave a Reply

