Chiptune Tits

According to the graph I generated over at blogpulse, seems I should stop saying chipmusic and start talking about chiptune if I wanna hang with the majority. Or should that be chiptuneS..? Micromusic is not popular in the blogosphere anyway. The peak in May was caused by the Crystal Castles buzz, which I never wrote about here (well, it’s mentioned in the plagiarism-page). Anyway. I will try to stick to saying chiptune about a particular chip..eh..tune..song, which is a part of the genre chipmusic. But my perspective is doomed, I tell ya! Doomed to the death of deaths!

np: micromusic episode 01 by Starpause (dj set, chipcutupmicronoisepopelectroyeah)

10 Responses to “Chiptune Tits”

  1. bikecore Says:

    this graph is the most nerdy act you have done on this blog so far

  2. starpause Says:

    overtake the majority, be original =)

  3. kikendo Says:

    Screw it, chipmusic all the way.
    Chiptune is for UK n00bz ;P

  4. Random Says:

    I remember a discussion on the old chipforum.net, where several people (I might be wrong here, but I think I remember “several people” included Reed amongst others) argued that chipmusic is what you mention as “method”-made music (in other words made with real chip hardware), and chiptune being sample based tracked modules. I personally added this with a term from VORC, “Chip-style”, meaning music sounding like chipmusic or chiptune (as a form, to use your terminology), but made with modern technology (non-tracker sequencers, VSTs etc) – and there you had terms to cover all types of chip-related music.
    Since then I’ve read several other opinions/definitions/ideas on the matter however, and I think it’s unnecessarily complex since you can’t expect everyone to know how a song with a certain esthetic style is made. I like your Method/Form definition of chipmusic or chiptunes better!

  5. chipflip Says:

    @random: that’s interesting! yea, for me chiptunes was soundtracker-based music aswell, if i remember right. or yea, that was the only chipmusic i knew back then anyway. or. uh. chipstyle? medium? blabla. oh yeah.

  6. dubmood Says:

    Chiptune is soundtracker based chipmusic. There shouldnt be any discussion about it. Its a fact. But we could discuss if it was 4mat who made the first chiptunes and if it was nuke who invented the word for it!

  7. chipflip Says:

    chiptune is not soundtracker based chipmusic if you look from a youtube-google-myspace point of view. most people dont know or care whether it’s made in a tracker or not.

    4mat invented a method for protracker (along with for example duz and turtle), but soundtracker-chipmusic has been made since 1987 on C64. nuke invented the word? gimme more info!

  8. dubmood Says:

    well who cares about youtube/google/myspace points of views when its the besserwisser-views that counts =) The definition of Chiptune as soundtracker-based chipmusic is what ive heard since I stumbled upon it, and that was in the early 90s somewhere when you started the chip drugs and sex. afaik there are 4mat chiptunes from 88/89ish? I know that I read some interview somewhere, maybe at modarchive, traxinspace no-error etc with 4mat where he claimed to be first, or my memory is leaking. about nuke, first time I saw the word chiptune was when he named a chiptune chiptune in 1990. so its just taken out of the air so to swedishishsay it. maybe we could ask him?

  9. Chipmusic Festival, 1990 « CHIPFLIP Says:

    […] But it was certainly unchartered territory back then, perhaps even more so in USA then Europe. Chiptune was the most popular term in the 00′s. I suppose 8bitpeoples contributed to that, like most others. The old VORC […]

  10. What happened in 2006? « CHIPFLIP Says:

    […] for some statistic disco! Four years ago I thought that the term chipmusic was doomed, because chiptune was so popular. Let’s have a look if […]

Leave a Reply

